My Converse are Black

I still remember what I wore my first day of high school. I walked into Parkland High School feeling all sorts of excitement, confusion and fear but confident about my outfit choice…Black graphic tee, jeans and black Converses. To be honest, I’m not sure the look I was going for. I wish I could show you a picture of it so we could contemplate on my choice of swagger. I still, however, have those black Converses and I’m emotionally attached to them- love them.

Converses are everywhere now, my feet included. I used to be irrationally protective of them because I thought people were just wearing them to be cool (Stay with me here). I cringed when I began to seem them left and right pointing out what was off about them as if I was the Converse police…Thankfully, I’ve woken myself up from putting my opinion on a damn pedestal. So I started thinking beyond the shoe and about the individual. I’m really not trying to have a conversation about Converses but a conversation about people.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We may take up fads and trends and not physically stand out among our peers but regardless of what we’re wearing, we’re still unique. We each stand for something different. We have different thoughts, ambitions, and feelings- all with an infinite amount of value. This is what matters most.

As a fashion and style enthusiast, I love to express myself through what I wear and try to see clothing in a different light than the norm, but I don’t let myself to limit souls and  people based on what they wear. I’ve learned so much from others around me by putting aside all things irrelevant to that person, that soul. In this case I’m using the choice of color for a new pair of Converses, but I hope you can see beyond a pair of shoes because I’m still learning how to do so. I’m discovering that people are beautiful, and unique, and great and it is in our nature as people to feed off each other’s amazingness.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Leave a Reply

