Pour Some Sugar on Yourself

Literally, give yourself some sweetness.

As a 21 (22 in a week WOO) year-old college student, I realize we’re in this funky limbo between our insecurities and accepting ourselves for who we are. It’s an odd subject to think about, but pretty evident in our environment. At this stage in our lives change is so prevalent that it’s difficult have a grasp on everything that helps us, but we can at least have the foundation to build upon. In this case, it’s self-love.

I was recently in an eye-opening situation where I was hearing a lot of these overly self-critical comments, and I found myself engaging in them too. After hearing it for a couple of mins I was stunned at how normal it seemed but how dumb we all really sounded. What makes us binge on this type of behavior?

In our culture and our age, self-love often has the stigma that practicing it equates to having a selfish, narcissist persona. People assume that because they aren’t putting themselves down about their skills, career, thoughts, weight, appearances, and actions that they’re these creatures who are actually content with what the world has given them…

It’s silly we’re conditioned to think that hating on ourselves translates to respecting others and being good, but we’re all guilty of it. From personal experience, I can attest to the fact that self-love has led me to not only honor the person that I am, but to value and honor other people on much deeper grounds. To be content with yourself doesn’t mean that you’re arrogant, or cocky, it simply means you understand that we’re only here for a certain amount of time ,and we’re lucky, so we might as well embrace what we are born with.

You know that saying you attract what you put out in the universe? I think it’s extremely true. I can’t explain how it work but the connectivity is real peeps!! I seek self-love everyday. If you chose to respect yourself, you’ll prevail respect from others. If you smile to yourself, someone will give you a smile. If you find your soul valuable, others will find it as well. Not only that, but you’ll most definitely see yourself treating others with much higher regards than before.

It’s an uncomfortable journey to embark on. Who wants to be appear as that egoistic kid? I certainly don’t. But it’s important to understand the difference between honoring who you are, what your potential is, and live in such way versus letting others negative influences scrape you down.

I’m personally still working to find the balance, and I don’t have it figured out 100%. But who really does? That’s part of being human. I just know that ever since I realized I needed to embrace my mind, body and soul I’ve seen really amazing things in people I hadn’t noticed before. I’ve remained true to myself through negative circumstances that come and go, and I’ve in turn, generally gotten the same respect back.

So I challenge whoever is reading this to think about how you treat yourself, and to try practicing self-love. It’s not all about being perfect, but about embracing your flaws as valuable and to always move forward within yourself.

IMG_0936

Leave a Reply

